Coaches Pre Season All-SEC Teams Announced - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Jarvis Greer

Coaches Pre Season All-SEC Teams Announced

SEC Coaches Preseason All-SEC Team Announced

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Defending SEC and national champion Florida Gators had a league-high 16 representatives on the 2009 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches' Football Team, while LSU had 10 total selections and defending Western Division Champion Alabama and Georgia had nine each, the league office announced on Thursday.

Florida led the way with eight players selected on the first team while Alabama had six and LSU had three.

Nine of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. Each SEC school had at least two student-athletes on either the first-, second- or third-team.

Ole Miss and Tennessee had seven total members on the squads, while Kentucky had six, Vanderbilt five, South Carolina and Arkansas four each, Auburn three and Mississippi State two.

There were only three unanimous selections to this year's All-SEC pre-season squad - LSU offensive lineman Ciron Black, Alabama wide receiver Julio Jones and Tennessee defensive back Eric Berry. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of 12 first-team votes.

There are 10 first-team pre-season selections that were on last year's first-team coaches All-SEC post-season team. Those include: QB Tim Tebow (Florida), RB Charles Scott (LSU), RS Brandon James (Florida), DL Terrence Cody (Alabama), LB Rolando McClain (Alabama), LB Brandon Spikes (Florida), LB Rennie Curran (Georgia), LB Eric Norwood (South Carolina), DB Eric Berry (Tennessee) and DB Trevard Lindley (Kentucky).

The All-SEC first-team squad had 15 seniors and 10 underclassmen, including eight juniors and two sophomores. The second-team had 18 seniors, seven juniors and three sophomores. The third-team had 16 seniors, eight juniors and five sophomores.

This marks the sixth straight year of the SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Team. The team is announced each year in advance of the SEC Football Media Days. This year, the event will be held next week, Wednesday through Friday, at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Ala.

The 2009 SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team is listed below.





Pos. Name, School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown

First-Team Offense

TE Richard Dickson, LSU 6-3 246 Sr. Ocean Springs, Miss.

*OL Ciron Black, LSU 6-5 325 Sr. Tyler, Texas

OL Mike Johnson, Alabama 6-6 305 Sr. Pensacola, Fla.

OL Mike Pouncey, Florida 6-5 312 Jr. Lakeland, Fla.

OL John Jerry, Ole Miss 6-5 350 Sr. Batesville, Miss.

C Maurkice Pouncey, Florida 6-5 312 Jr. Lakeland, Fla.

*WR Julio Jones, Alabama 6-4 210 So. Foley, Ala.

WR A.J. Green, Georgia 6-4 207 So. Summerville, S.C.

QB Tim Tebow, Florida 6-3 240 Sr. Jacksonville, Fla.

RB Michael Smith, Arkansas 5-7 176 Sr. Tallahassee, Fla.

RB Charles Scott, LSU 5-11 233 Sr. Saline, La.

Second-Team Offense

TE D.J. Williams, Arkansas 6-2 251 Jr. Little Rock, Ark.

OL Lee Ziemba, Auburn 6-8 285 Jr. Rogers, Ark.

OL Clint Boling, Georgia 6-5 297 Jr. Alpharetta, Ga.

#OL Chris Scott, Tennessee 6-5 346 Sr. Riverdale, Ga.

#OL Carl Johnson, Florida 6-6 330 Jr. Durham, N.C.

#OL Cordy Glenn, Georgia 6-5 331 So. Riverdale, Ga.

C Josh McNeil, Tennessee 6-4 280 Sr. Collins, Miss.

WR Brandon LaFell, LSU 6-3 209 Sr. Houston, Texas

WR Dexter McCluster, Ole Miss 5-8 165 Sr. Largo, Fla.

QB Jevan Snead, Ole Miss 6-3 215 Jr. Stephenville, Texas

RB Anthony Dixon, Mississippi State 6-1 235 Sr. Jackson, Miss.

RB Jeff Demps, Florida 5-8 176 So. Winter Garden, Fla.

Third-Team Offense

TE Aaron Hernandez, Florida 6-3 255 Jr. Bristol, Conn.

OL Jacques McClendon, Tennessee 6-3 324 Sr. Cleveland, Tenn.

OL Zipp Duncan, Kentucky 6-5 291 Sr. Magnolia, Ky.

OL Mitch Petrus, Arkansas 6-4 315 Sr. Carlisle, Ark.

OL Trinton Sturdivant, Georgia 6-5 306 So. Wadesboro, N.C.

C Jorge Gonzalez, Kentucky 6-3 300 Sr. Tampa, Fla.

WR Shay Hodge, Ole Miss 6-1 207 Sr. Morton, Miss.

#WR Terrance Tolliver, LSU 6-5 194 Jr. Hempstead, Texas

#WR Gerald Jones, Tennessee 6-0 199 Jr. Oklahoma City, Okla.

#QB Stephen Garcia, South Carolina 6-2 219 So. Lutz, Fla.

#QB Mike Hartline, Kentucky 6-6 206 Jr. Canton, Ohio

RB Mark Ingram, Alabama 5-10 215 So. Flint, Mich.

RB Ben Tate, Auburn 5-11 216 Sr. Newark, Md.

First-Team Defense

DL Terrence Cody, Alabama 6-5 365 Sr. Fort Myers, Fla.

DL Greg Hardy, Ole Miss 6-4 265 Sr. Millington, Tenn.

DL Carlos Dunlap, Florida 6-6 290 Jr. North Charleston, S.C.

LB Rolando McClain, Alabama 6-4 249 Jr. Decatur, Ala.

LB Brandon Spikes, Florida 6-3 245 Sr. Shelby, N.C.

LB Rennie Curran, Georgia 5-11 222 Jr. Snellville, Ga.

LB Eric Norwood, South Carolina 6-1 252 Sr. Acworth, Ga.

*DB Eric Berry, Tennessee 5-11 203 Jr. Fairburn, Ga.

DB Javier Arenas, Alabama 5-9 198 Sr. Tampa, Fla.

DB Trevard Lindley, Kentucky 6-0 179 Sr. Hiram, Ga.

DB Joe Haden, Florida 5-11 185 Jr. Ft. Washington, Md.

Second-Team Defense

DL Charles Alexander, LSU 6-3 310 Sr. Breaux Bridge, La.

DL Antonio Coleman, Auburn 6-3 250 Sr. Mobile, Ala.

#DL Geno Atkins, Georgia 6-1 290 Sr. Pembroke Pines, Fla.

#DL Dan Williams, Tennessee 6-3 327 Sr. Memphis, Tenn.

#DL Malcolm Sheppard, Arkansas 6-2 280 Sr. Bainbridge, Ga.

LB Micah Johnson, Kentucky 6-2 258 Sr. Ft. Campbell, Ky.

LB Patrick Benoist, Vanderbilt 6-0 224 Sr. Southlake, Texas

LB Rico McCoy, Tennessee 6-1 220 Sr. Washington, D.C.

LB Dont'a Hightower, Alabama 6-4 250 So. Lewisburg, Tenn.

DB Ahmad Black, Florida 5-9 190 Jr. Lakeland, Fla.

DB Chad Jones, LSU 6-3 214 Jr. New Orleans, La.

DB Prince Miller, Georgia 5-8 198 Sr. Duncan, S.C.

DB Myron Lewis, Vanderbilt 6-2 205 Sr. Pompano Beach, Fla.

Third-Team Defense

DL Jeff Owens, Georgia 6-3 300 Sr. Sunrise, Fla.

DL Marcus Tillman, Ole Miss 6-4 260 Sr. McCall Creek, Miss.

#DL Rahim Alem, LSU 6-3 254 Sr. New Orleans, La.

#DL Corey Peters, Kentucky 6-3 295 Sr. Louisville, Ky.

LB Chris Marve, Vanderbilt 6-0 228 So. Memphis, Tenn.

LB Jamar Chaney, Mississippi State 6-1 245 Sr. Fort Pierce, Fla.

LB Ryan Stamper, Florida 6-2 232 Sr. Jacksonville, Fla.

LB Perry Riley, LSU 6-1 240 Sr. Ellenwood, Ga.

DB Major Wright, Florida 6-0 200 Jr. Miramar, Fla.

DB Janoris Jenkins, Florida 5-10 185 So. Pahokee, Fla.

#DB Ryan Hamilton, Vanderbilt 6-2 210 Sr. Wycombe, Penn.

#DB Chris Culliver, South Carolina 6-0 190 Jr. Garner, N.C.

#DB Reshad Jones, Georgia 6-2 214 Jr. Atlanta, Ga.

First-Team Specialists

PK Leigh Tiffin, Alabama 6-1 199 Sr. Muscle Shoals, Ala.

P Chas Henry, Florida 6-4 215 Jr. Dallas, Ga.

RS Brandon James, Florida 5-7 186 Sr. St. Augustine, Fla.

Second-Team Specialists

PK Jonathan Phillips, Florida 5-10 210 Sr. Wellington, Fla.

P Brett Upson, Vanderbilt 5-11 185 Sr. Griffin, Ga.

RS Javier Arenas, Alabama 5-9 198 Sr. Tampa, Fla.

Third-Team Specialists

PK Joshua Shene, Ole Miss 5-8 170 Sr. Oklahoma City, Okla.

P Spencer Lanning, South Carolina 5-11 188 Jr. Rock Hill, S.C.

RS Trindon Holliday, LSU 5-5 165 Sr. Zachary, La.


* - Unanimous Selections

Powered by Frankly