Hood has won AGs race

Democrat Jim Hood will be Mississippi's next attorney general.

Hood has been declared the winner over Republican Scott Newton.

With 40 percent of the vote reported, Hood had 63 percent to Newton's 37 percent.

Hood is a district attorney for seven northeast Mississippi counties.

Newton has worked as an F-B-I agent and an assistant U-S attorney.

Democrat Mike Moore, who has held the post for four terms, did not run for re-election.

Several incumbent officeholders have easily held on to their post.

Democratic Secretary of State Eric Clark faced Republican Julio Del Castillo.

Clark is the projected winner.

Commissioner George Dale faced Republican Aaron "Lucky" Dupuy and a lesser-known Reform Party candidate.

Republican State Auditor Phil Bryant was opposed by Reform Party candidate Billy Blackburn. Dale and Bryant have been declared winners.

Agricultural Commissioner Lester Spell has also won re-election.

Spell faced Republican Max Phillips and a Reform Party candidate.

(Copyright 2003 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)