Freedom Award recipients honored in downtown Memphis

(WMC-TV) – The National Civil Rights Museum's annual event "The Freedom Award" will be held Tuesday evening in downtown Memphis.

Freedom Award honorees took student's questions during a public forum earlier in the day.

This year's recipients are:

  • Dr. Bernard Lafayette, National Freedom Award
  • Muhammad Yunus, International Freedom Award
  • Marlo Thomas, Humanitarian Award
  • Dr. George Jenkins, Dr. Rameck Hunt, Dr. Sampson Davis, 2012 Legacy Award

During the forum, the panelist offered students advice about staying on the right path, and living dreams to make the world a better place.

New information was revealed during Q and A session with reporters about how Martin Luther King Junior was able to influence the political process, even though he never ran for office.

The Freedom Award will take place at 6:30 p.m. at the Cannon Center for Performing Arts.  A gala dinner will follow at the Memphis Cook Convention Center.

Copyright 2012 WMC-TV. All rights reserved.