Big East Basketball Teams Splitting

In a unanimous vote, the seven Big East schools that don't play FBS football have decided to leave the conference and pursue a new basketball framework.

The decision is a crippling blow to the conference, as Connecticut, Cincinnati and South Florida, three members with FBS football programs, are also contemplating their futures.

Georgetown, St. John's, Villa nova, DePaul, Marquette, Seton Hall and Providence are all out.

The Big East is still lined up to have a 12-team *football* conference next season with six new members joining, including Memphis.

Rutgers and Louisville, are both leaving, but are still expected to compete in the conference next year.