Zapolski Receives ECHL Goaltender of the Year Honors - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Zapolski Receives ECHL Goaltender of the Year Honors

The South Carolina Stingrays announced today that goaltender Ryan Zapolski has been named the Reebok Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year for 2012-13.
Zapolski, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team and All-ECHL First Team last week and on Monday was named the ECHL Rookie of the Year, is the first rookie to be named the Goaltender of the Year since Alaska's Jean-Philippe Lamoureux in 2008-09. He joins Louisiana's Frederic Cloutier (2001-02), Trenton's Scott Stirling (2000-01), Hampton Roads' Jan Lasak (1999-00) and Richmond's Maxime Gingras (1998-99) as winners of both the Rookie of the Year and Goaltender of the Year in the same season.
The Erie, Pennsylvania, native led the ECHL this season with a 1.64 goals-against average, a .942 save percentage and eight shutouts, while finishing tied for second with 27 wins and fifth with 2,378 minutes played. Zapolski set a new ECHL single-season record for lowest goals-against average, while tying the mark for most shutouts in a season and tying the second best save percentage in league history. Zapolski also earned Most Valuable Player honors at the 2013 ECHL All-Star Game, stopping all 17 shots he faced in the second period of the ECHL All-Star 7-3 win against Colorado.
Zapolski is the second Stingray to be named ECHL Goaltender of the Year behindTodd Ford in 2009-10. Current Stingrays goaltender Jeff Jakaitis won the award last season as a member of the Gwinnett Gladiators.
The Reebok HockeyGoaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender selected to be the best at his position as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.
Mark Guggenberger of Alaska finished second, followed by Idaho's Josh RobinsonJoel Martin of Kalamazoo and Gwinnett's Mike Lee.


Reebok Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners


2012-13           Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays
2011-12           Jeff Jakaitis, Gwinnett Gladiators
2010-11           Gerald Coleman, Alaska Aces
2009-10           Todd Ford, South Carolina Stingrays
2008-09           Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, Alaska Aces
2007-08           Anton Khudobin, Texas Wildcatters
2006-07           Adam Berkhoel, Dayton Bombers
2005-06           Matt Underhill, Alaska Aces
2004-05           Chris Madden, Florida Everblades/Long Beach Ice Dogs
2003-04           Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002-03           Alfie Michaud, Peoria Rivermen
2001-02           Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01           Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans
1999-00           Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals
1998-99           Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades
1997-98           Nick Vitucci, Toledo Storm
1996-97           Marc Delorme, Louisiana IceGators
1995-96           Alain Morissette, Louisville RiverFrogs
1994-95           Chris Gordon, Huntington Blizzard
1993-94           Cory Cadden, Knoxville Cherokees
The Stingrays kick off the 2013 Kelly Cup Playoffs with Game 1 of the best-of-seven Eastern Conference Quarterfinals on Friday, April 5 against the Gladiators at 7:35 p.m. at The Arena at Gwinnett Center. Listen to all the action live at! Game 3, 4 and 5 (if necessary) is at the North Charleston Coliseum on Wednesday, April 10Friday, April 12 andSaturday, April 13 at 7:05 p.m.! 
Powered by Frankly