Nine schools eligible to join different district - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Nine schools eligible to join different district

(WMC-TV) - Nine Shelby County Schools are now eligible to join the Achievement School District in 2014.

The ASD's goal is to take the bottom 5 percent performing schools in Tennessee and bring them to the top 25 percent in 5 years.

Qualifying schools from the Memphis area include Coleman, Denver, Springhill, and Westwood Elementary School; South Side and Wooddale Middle School; Carver, Fairley, and Frayser High School.

Two of the three high schools will actually join the ASD.

The next step in the process is a series of community meetings. Parents, teachers, and community members are asked to participate in the school matching process. Interested parties have between now and December to help the ASD choose which charters should be connected.

Meetings will be held from 5:30 p.m. to 7 p.m. September 16th and September 17th at the following schools:

Monday, September 16th

  • Coleman Elementary (Springhill Elementary School and Coleman Elementary School)
  • South Side Middle School
  • Carver High School

Tuesday, September 17th

  • Denver Elementary School (Denver Elementary School and Frayser High School)
  • Wooddale Middle School
  • Westwood Elementary School (Westwood Elementary School and Fairley High School)

For additional information, click here: .

Copyright 2013 WMC-TV. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly