Tomorrow's engineers: The 2013 War Eagle BEST Robotics Comp - Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Tomorrow's engineers: The 2013 War Eagle BEST Robotics Competition

Posted: Updated:

The 2013 War Eagle BEST Robotics Competition took place at Auburn University today, Oct. 19.

Students from 27 middle schools and high schools from our region entered the event, which has a different theme each year. This year's theme had to do with moving inventory in different stages using, of course, robotic machines designed by the students themselves. The higher the difficulty of movement, the higher the points earned.

"It's like a sporting event for geeks and nerds," says T.J. Nguyen, Technical Coordinator and Floor Manager for the event. "It's the most exciting thing I did in high school. I did it for four years." 

Now in his tenth year participating, Nguyen has recently earned a degree in Engineering and says these BEST Robotics Competitions are what led him in that direction.

"My teacher always said that you're giving kids what they need in the context of what they want. So they're learning all this engineering, all this math, all this science, and they don't even realize they're doing it."

The full list of today's ranks for the 2013 War Eagle BEST Robotics Competition are as follows:

Robotics Rankings

  1. Wetumpka High School
  2. Lee Scott Academy*
  3. Saint James School*
  4. Springwood School
  5. Columbus High School
  6. Southside Middle School
  7. Brewbaker Technical Magnet School
  8. Opelika High School
  9. Loachapoka High School

10.  A-2-Z Homeschool

11.  Auburn Junior High School

12.  Montgomery Catholic School

13.  Prattville High School

14.  Wetumpka Middle School

15.  Northside High School

16.  Smiths Station High School

17.  Lanett High School

18.  Glenwood School

19.  Spencer High School

20.  Central Education Center

21.  Loveless Academic Magnet Program (LAMP)

22.  Opelika Middle School

BEST Award Rankings

  1. Brewbaker Technical Magnet School*
  2. Wetumpka High School*
  3. Springwood School*S
  4. Columbus High School
  5. Saint James School
  6. Loachapoka High School

* Teams that will advance to the regional final, South's BEST hosted by Auburn University on December 7 and 8.

Copyright 2013 WTVM. All rights reserved.


Powered by WorldNow