Three Gamecocks Named To Coaches All-SEC Team - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Three Gamecocks Named To Coaches All-SEC Team


Three South Carolina Gamecocks were named to the 2013 Coaches All-Southeastern Conference football team released on Tuesday afternoon.  Junior defensive end Jadeveon Clowney and junior defensive tackle Kelcy Quarles earned first-team accolades with sophomore tailback Mike Davis earning second-team honors.

All three players also earned All-SEC by the Associated Press on Monday as well.

Clowney, a 2013 Rotary Lombardi Award semifinalist, earned All-SEC accolades for a third straight season.  He finished the regular season with 10.5 tackles for loss and had 35 tackles on the year to go along with a forced fumble, a pair of pass breakups, three sacks and eight quarterback hurries.

Quarles, one of four captains, was the team leader in tackles for loss with 13.5 as well as a team-high 9.5 sacks.  Quarles enters the 2014 Capital One Bowl with 36 tackles, a pass breakup, a fumble recovery and three quarterback hurries. 

Davis, a 2013 Doak Walker Award semifinalist, averaged 134.2 all-purpose yards a game, fourth highest in the league.  Davis carried 194 times for 1,134 yards including 11 touchdown and averaged 5.8 yards per carry.  Davis' rushing total is currently the fourth highest single-season total in South Carolina history.  Davis has logged seven 100-yard games this year in 10 starts and 11 games played.


TE -  Arthur Lynch, Georgia
OL -  Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
        Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
         Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
         Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt
 C -    Reese Dismukes, Auburn
 WR -  Mike Evans, Texas A&M
         Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
 QB -  Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
 RB -  Tre Mason, Auburn
         T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
 AP -  Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU     
DL -  Michael Sam, Missouri
         Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
         Dee Ford, Auburn
         Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina
LB -  C.J. Mosley, Alabama
        Ramik Wilson, Georgia
        A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
DB – Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss
         Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
         E.J. Gaines, Missouri
         Vernon Hargreaves, Florida
PK – Marshall Morgan, Georgia    
P –  Drew Kaser, Texas A&M   
RS –  Christion Jones, Alabama *
         Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU *   
TE – Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State  
OL – La'el Collins, LSU
        Antonio Richardson, Tennessee
        Justin Britt, Missouri
        Anthony Steen, Alabama
 C -  Travis Swanson, Arkansas
 WR – Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU
         Jarvis Landry, LSU
 QB -  AJ McCarron, Alabama
 RB -  Mike Davis, South Carolina
         Jeremy Hill, LSU
 AP -  Marcus Murphy, Missouri
DL -  Anthony Johnson, LSU
         Chris Smith, Arkansas
         Ed Stinson, Alabama
         Trey Flowers, Arkansas
LB -  Lamin Barrow, LSU
        Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
        Avery Williamson, Kentucky
 DB – Andre Hal, Vanderbilt
         Chris Davis, Auburn
         Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State
         Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt
PK -  Michael Palardy, Tennessee
 P -  Cody Mandell, Alabama
 RS –  Solomon Patton, Florida

Powered by Frankly