Ark. schools request bad weather waivers - Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Ark. schools request bad weather waivers

Posted: Updated:

(WMC-TV / KAIT) – The Arkansas Board of Education approved inclement weather waivers for 75 school districts Thursday at its monthly meeting. The waivers shorten the required 178 days of classroom instruction.

Schools asked the board not to extend classes into mid-June.

Twenty of the 75 districts were in the Action News 5 viewing area.

Communications Officer Kimberly Friedman posted on the Arkansas Department of Education's Facebook page shortly before 11:00 Thursday morning.

Many schools requested waivers after round and round of winter weather. Among those in the Mid-South are:

Batesville School District

Calico Rock Public Schools

Cave City School District

Cedar Ridge School District

Greene County Technical School District

Harrisburg School District

Hoxie School District

Imboden Area Charter School

Izard County Consolidated School District

Lawrence County School District

Mammoth Spring School District

Marmaduke School District

Paragould School District

Piggott School District

Pocahontas Public Schools

Searcy County School District

Southside School District - Batesville

Trumann School District

West Side School District

Westside Consolidated School District

For a complete list of Arkansas schools that requested waivers, click here: 

Powered by WorldNow