Mississippi voters elect municipal leaders - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Mississippi voters elect municipal leaders

(WMC) -

Mississippi cities held municipal elections Tuesday.

Early results show Allen B. Latimer retains his seat as Horn Lake mayor.

Latimer received 61 percent of the vote, with 933 total votes. His opponent, Michael Guice, received 38 percent of the vote, 585 total votes.

The race for Southaven mayor showed Darren Musselwhite coming out as the winner with 70 percent of the vote.

Tommy Henley received 28 percent of the vote.

In the Olive Branch alderman races, George Collins retains his seat as alderman at large with 68 percent of the vote. His opponent, Stephen Sutton, received 31 percent of the vote. 

In the race for Alderman Ward 4, David Wallace gained 76 percent of the vote, with 216 votes. Shawn Braddock gained 16 percent of the vote and Tanner Kuntz received 6 percent.

However, Hernando mayor Chip Johnson lost his re-election bid to challenger Tom Ferguson Jr. 

Ferguson received 1,536 votes, as opposed to Johnson 1,170 votes.

To view a complete list of the Mississippi municipal races, along with other elections coming up in the Mid-South, click on our Election Guide.

Copyright 2017 WMC Action News 5. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly