TN Mr. Football Nominees - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Jarvis Greer

TN Mr. Football Nominees

THE AMERICAN GENERAL MR. FOOTBALL® AWARDS TO BE PRESENTED ON MONDAY, NOVEMBER 28, 2005 Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 11:30 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.


Nashville, Tennessee, November 10, 2005 - The American General Mr. Football® Awards will be presented to the top 14 backs and linemen in seven classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Monday, November 28, 2005, at the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center. For the fourth consecutive year, the top kicker in the state will be recognized with an American General Mr. Football® Award. There are three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.

A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2005 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

This is the twenty first year that the American General Mr. Football® Awards have been presented to Tennessee's best high school football players. American General has been the sole sponsor of this event since the inception of these awards in 1985. Plaques will be presented to 30 other finalists.

More than 500 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2005 luncheon.


1A Lineman

Alan Malone, South Pittsburg

Russell Noles, Hollow Rock-Bruceton Central Roderick Whitaker, Mt. Pleasant

2A Lineman

Chris Donald, Huntingdon

Martez Mitchell, Tyner

Brandon Warren, Alcoa

3A Lineman

Braden Binkley, David Lipscomb

Johnathan DeBerry, Lexington

Darius McDonald, Howard

4A Lineman

Michael Carter, Melrose

Ricky Lumpkin, Kenwood

Gary Tucker, Maryville

5A Lineman

Tamar Butler, Riverdale

Nick Reveiz, Farragut

Adam Smotherman, Smyrna

Division II-A/AA Lineman

Alvin Ingle, Pope John Paul II

Andy Johnson, Evangelical Christian

Charlie Seivers, Knoxville Webb

Division II-AAA Lineman

Mason George, MUS

Jacques McClendon, Baylor

Chris Mosby, Christian Brothers

1A Back

Dustin Dillehay, Trousdale County

Drew Hayes, McKenzie

Antonio Robinson, South Pittsburg

2A Back

Markei Guy, Westview

Dustin Lindsey, Alcoa

Phillip Weathers, Jr., Huntingdon

3A Back

LaRay Foote, Mitchell

Ricky Ladd, White House

Dennis Rogan, Fulton

4A Back

Graig Cooper, Melrose

Zach Helton, Knoxville Central

Adam Milligan, Hardin County

5A Back

Spencer Gulmire, Oak Ridge

T.C. Jennings, Ravenwood

Gaston Miller, Riverdale

Division II-A/AA Back

Josh Booker, FACS

Matt French, Knoxville Webb

Golden Tate, Pope John Paul II

Division II-AAA Back

B.J. Coleman, McCallie

Henry Harris, Christian Brothers

Andy Snyder, MBA

Kicker of the Year

Blake Alexander, Westview

Josh Jasper, Ridgeway

Chris Walsh, Brentwood

Powered by Frankly