Steelers, Memphian Win Super Bowl

DETROIT (AP) - Memphian Cedric Wilson, wide receiver for the Pittsburgh Steelers, is a SUper Bowl champ.  The Steelers are the third team to win five Super Bowls after beating the Seattle Seahawks 21-to-10 in Detroit. Ben Roethlisberger (RAHTH'-lis-bur-gur), Willie Parker and Hines Ward each scored touchdowns for the Steelers, who are N-F-L champs for the first time since the 1979 season. The Seahawks led 3-to-0 until Roethlisberger ran for a one-yard score just before halftime. The second-year quarterback was 9-of-21 for 123 yards and two interceptions.

Willie Parker set a Super Bowl record with a 75-yard touchdown run, which put the Steelers ahead 14-to-3 just 22 seconds into the second half. Parker finished with 93 yards on ten carries. Antoine Randle El became the first wide receiver to throw a touchdown pass in a Super Bowl. He connected with Ward for a 43-yard T-D to give the Steelers a 21-to-10 lead with eight-56 remaining. Seahawks quarterback Matt Hasselbeck completed 26 of his 49 passes for 273 yards, one touchdowns and an interception that set up Ward's touchdown reception.

(Copyright 2006 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)