University of Arkansas in Fayetteville to ban tobacco next year

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) - The University of Arkansas at Fayetteville plans to completely ban all tobacco products from its campus next year.

University officials announced today that cigarettes, chewing tobacco and other products would not be allowed on campus beginning in July 2008.

Officials say the ban would apply to all students, staffers and visitors and reach into all university vehicles and facilities.

Officials say they also will ban tobacco products from campus-controlled advertising, as well as the sale or free distribution of the products.

The university first banned indoor smoking and smoking with 25 feet of building entrances in 2001, joining other colleges around the country.

The university's total tobacco ban comes after Minnesota State University at Moorhead last week announced it would go tobacco-free by January First.

Across the state, the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith have banned smoking on their campuses, along with National Park Community College in Hot Springs and North Arkansas College in Harrison.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)