Memphis paper among TAPME award winners

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - The Tennessean of Nashville, The Commercial Appeal of Memphis, The Jackson Sun and the Shelbyville Times-Gazette were big winners in the 2007 Tennessee Associated Press Managing Editors newspaper competition.

The TAPME awards were announced Friday at the Tennessee State Press Contests along with the winners in the 2007 Tennessee Press Association contest.

Brad Schrade of The Tennessean won the Malcolm Law Memorial Award for Investigative Reporting in Division I for papers with more than 40,000 daily circulation. Schrade won the award for his project "Tennessee Highway Patrol."

The award was established to honor Malcolm Law, associate editor of The Jackson Sun, who died in December 1972. The award pays tribute to the dedication of Law to the concept of The Associated Press as a news cooperative.

The Commercial Appeal reporters won four first-place awards in features reporting, sports-outdoors reporting, sports photography and photo journalism. Tennessean reporters won three top awards in daily deadline reporting, business news and spot news photography.

Tennessean photographer John Partipilo won the individual achievement award in photography, which he also won last year.

Reporters with The Jackson Sun won five first-place awards in Division II for newspapers with daily circulation from 10,000 to 40,000. Reporters won for daily deadline reporting, features reporting, sports-outdoors reporting, business news and photo journalism.

ackson Sun reporter Dan Morris won the Malcolm Law Award in Division II for his piece "Jackson's Legal Fees." Morris also won the investigative award last year.

Wes Hope, photographer for The Daily Times in Maryville, won the individual achievement award in photography for Division II.

Shelbyville Times-Gazette staff members won three top prizes in daily deadline reporting, sports photography and photo journalism in Division III, for newspapers with circulations less than 10,000.

Reporters Clint Confehr and David Melson, also with the Shelbyville Times-Gazette, won the Malcolm Law Award for their investigative entry titled "Estrada Death."

The individual achievement in photography award for Division III went to Chris Menees, photographer for the Union City Daily Messenger.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)