Robbins Wins 2007 Publinks Championship

For decades the Memphis Publinks Championship has been entertaining local amateurs. 3 rounds at 3 city courses and scores keep creeping lower each year.   Galloway played host to the final round Saturday afternoon. Keith McKaime came in with a 2 stroke lead but couldn't hold it. The puts just didn't fall and he finished tied for 8th after posting a 76. Don Holmes was in the mix...he tapped in on 18 for an even par 70 but that's was not enough to win. Rick Robbins stuck his approach on 18 and would two putt for par...a final round 67....and he's the 2007 Publinks champ after 3 straight rounds under par.

Robbins topped Holmes by 3 strokes with a 3 day total of 203. He's now a 2-time winner, also winning it in 2003. Alex Beal fired a scintillating 65 to creep into a tie for 3rd with Gary Todd.   Ed McDugle, a past champion finished 5th, 5 strokes back.