Magic Johnson heads list of 2007 Freedom Award recipients - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Magic Johnson heads list of 2007 Freedom Award recipients

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) - Former NBA star Magic Johnson, historian John Hope Franklin and Liberian President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf have been named recipients of the National Civil Rights Museum's annual Freedom Awards.

The museum on the site of Martin Luther King Junior's assassination handed out the awards at a banquet in Memphis.

The museum said it was honoring Johnson for his work on promoting economic development, improved health care and educational opportunities in low-income urban neighborhoods.

Johnson said he was humbled by his selection among the other recipients.

Franklin was part of the legal team that helped develop the Brown v. Board of Education case which lead to the US Supreme Court decision outlawing racial segregation in public schools.

Johnson-Sirleaf was inaugurated in January as president of Liberia, her country's first elected female president.

Also the Ford Motor Company Fund, the philanthropic arm of Ford, announced a $1 million contribution to the National Civil Rights Museum.


Powered by Frankly