Tennessee MR. Football Finalists - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Jarvis Greer

Tennessee MR. Football Finalists

The Mr. Football Awards will be presented to the top 14 backs and linemen in seven classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Monday, December 3, 2007, at the Nashville Airport Marriott. For the sixth consecutive year, the top kicker in the state will be recognized with a Mr. Football Award. There are three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.

A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2007 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

This is the twenty-third year that the Mr. Football Awards have been presented to Tennessee's best high school football players. Plaques will be presented to 30 other finalists.

Approximately 500 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2007 luncheon.

1A Lineman

Alex Matlock, Hollow Rock-Bruceton Central Robert Robinson, South Pittsburg Aaron Yates, Jo Byrns

2A Lineman

Dakota Crews, Lewis County

Elijah Epperson, Humboldt

Chase Horton, Camden Central

3A Lineman

Rogers Gaines, White House

Dont'a Hightower, Marshall County

Beau Liljenquist, Dyersburg

4A Lineman

Slade Adams, Mt. Juliet

Aaron Douglas, Maryville

Brandon McLeroy, Rhea County

5A Lineman

Mike McAdoo, Antioch

David Spurlock, Riverdale

LaDarrius Verge, Riverdale

DII-A Lineman

Blair Arrington, Davidson Academy

Hunter Cowan, St. George's

Ben Popeck, St. George's

DII-AA Lineman

Preston Bailey, MBA

Barrett Jones, Evangelical Christian

DeAndre Jones, MUS

1A Back

Derek Carr, McKenzie

Marco Dailey, Mt. Pleasant

Chad Jordan, Hollow Rock-Bruceton Central

2A Back

Randall Cobb, Alcoa

Kendal Harper, Peabody

Harrison Moore, Westview

3A Back

Jeremy Holt, David Lipscomb

Tremaine Hudson, Howard

Deaunte Mason, Pearl-Cohn

4A Back

Brent Burnette, Maryville

Curt Phillips, Sullivan South

Jacquese Seward, Hillsboro

5A Back

Jeff Link, White Station

Andre Sterling, Farragut

Rodriguez Wilks, Smyrna

DII-A Back

Marlon Brown, Evangelical Christian

H.R. Greer, SBEC

Grant Jessen, St. George's


Ben Bartholomew, MBA

Adam Currie, Evangelical Christian

Chris Jordan, Brentwood Academy

Kicker of the Year

Mike Hammons, Polk County

Cody Jones, Jackson Christian

Kase Whitehead, William Blount

Conspicuously absent from the Mr. Football Finalist list is Kingsbury Running Back Gabriel Hunter.

The city's leading Rusher with more than 24-hundred yards, Hunter earns National Praise as the USA Today/Max Preps Player of the Week for his 436-yard 5-touchdown effort against Munford in last weeks' first round.

The 5'11, 180-pounder needs 163 yards this week against Melrose in round two to become Memphis Single Season All-Time Leading Rusher.

Powered by Frankly