Nike Hoop Summit Moves to Portland, OR - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Jarvis Greer

Nike Hoop Summit Moves to Portland, OR

After 3-years at FedExForum, the Nike Hoop Summit is moving to Portland, Oregon April 12th.

The game, featuring America's top High School stars against the Top stars from around the world, has moved around the country, from San Antonio, to Indianapolis, to Charlotte, along with Tampa and Orlando in Florida in it's 10-year existence.

The Memphis Run was the first time the game had been played in one city in back to back years.

Hoop Summit History


April 7, 2007 Memphis, Tennessee USA 100, World 80 Fox Sports Net

April 8, 2006 Memphis, Tennessee USA 109, World 91 Fox Sports Net

April 9, 2005 Memphis, Tennessee USA 106, World 98 Fox Sports Net

April 4, 2004 San Antonio, Texas USA 99, World 79 Fox Sports Net

April 2, 2000 Indianapolis, Indiana USA 98, World 97 ESPN

March 28, 1999 Tampa, Florida USA 107, World 95 ESPN

March 29, 1998 San Antonio, Texas World 104, USA 99 ESPN2

April 19, 1997 Lake Buena Vista, Florida USA 97, World 90 CBS

April 20, 1996 Charlotte, North Carolina World 104, USA 96 CBS

May 13, 1995 Springfield, Massachusetts USA 86, World 77 CBS

Annual Nike Hoop Summit To Be Held April 12 In Portland


As of January 2007, 40 former USA players and 12 former World team members play in the NBA.

Some of the American NBA standouts boasting of Hoop Summit experience include Shareef Abdur-Rahim (Sacramento Kings); Ron Artest (Sacramento Kings); Shane Battier (Houston Rockets); Mike Bibby (Atlanta Hawks); Elton Brand (Los Angeles Clippers); Nick Collison (Seattle SuperSonics); Baron Davis (Golden State Warriors); Chris Duhon (Chicago Bulls); Mike Dunleavy (Golden State Warriors); Kevin Durant (Seattle SuperSonics); Monta Ellis (Golden State Warriors); Jordan Farmar (Los Angeles Lakers); Kevin Garnett (Boston Celtics); Rudy Gay (Memphis Grizzlies); Daniel Gibson (Cleveland Cavaliers); Al Harrington (Golden State Warriors); Kirk Hinrich (Chicago Bulls); Larry Hughes (Cleveland Cavaliers); Al Jefferson (Minnesota Timberwolves); Jared Jeffries (New York Knicks); Joe Johnson (Atlanta Hawks); Rashard Lewis (Orlando Magic); Stephon Marbury (New York Knicks); Darius Miles (Portland Trail Blazers); Jermaine O'Neal (Indiana Pacers); Zach Randolph (New York Knicks); Quentin Richardson (New York Knicks); J.R. Smith (Denver Nuggets); Josh Smith (Atlanta Hawks); Stromile Swift (New Jersey Nets); Sebastian Telfair (Minnesota Timberwolves); Martell Webster (Portland Trail Blazers); Louis Williams (Philadelphia 76ers); Brandan Wright (Golden State Warriors); Julian Wright (New Orleans Hornets); and Thaddeus Young (Philadelphia 76ers).

World Hoop Summit alums now playing for NBA teams include Dirk Nowitzki (Dallas Mavericks); Tony Parker (San Antonio Spurs); Louis Scola (Houston Rockets); Yi Jianlian, (Milwaukee Bucks); Andrea Bargnani, (Toronto Raptors); Vladimir Radmanovic (Los Angeles Lakers); Dan Gadzuric (Milwaukee Bucks); Darius Songaila (Washington Wizards); Bostjan Nachbar (New Jersey Nets); Sergio Rodriguez (Portland Trail Blazers); Mouhamed Saer Sene (Seattle SuperSonics); and Marcus Vinicius Viera (New Orleans Hornets).

Twenty-six other former Hoop Summit players are currently competing on the collegiate level including five members of the Duke Blue Devils - Gerald Henderson, Greg Paulus, Jon Scheyer; Kyle Singler and Nolan Smith. Three former Hoop Summit players play at North Carolina, Wayne Ellington, Tyler Hansbrough and Tywon Lawson, while three alums are members of the Syracuse Orange, Paul Harris, Jonny Flynn and Donte Greene.

Also playing collegiately are Richard Hendrix at Alabama; Jerryd Bayless at Arizona; Vernon Macklin at Georgetown; D.J. White at Indiana; Brandon Rush at Kansas; Michael Beasley at Kansas State; Patrick Paterson at Kentucky; Derrick Rose at Memphis; Malik Hairston at Oregon; J.P. Prince at Tennessee; Kevin Love at UCLA; O.J. Mayo at USC; and Jon Brockman at Washington

Powered by Frankly