7-year census estimates reflect DeSoto Co.'s growth - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

7-year census estimates reflect DeSoto Co.'s growth

SOUTHAVEN, Miss. (AP) - DeSoto County accounted for more than half of the population growth recorded in the eight-county Memphis metropolitan area during the 2000-2007 period.       That's according to recent new Census Bureau data.

According to the estimates, the northwest Mississippi county accounted for 42,194 of the area's total 75,329 gain during the review period, which ended July 1st, 2007

The metropolitan area includes DeSoto, Marshall, Tate and Tunica counties in Mississippi; Shelby, Fayette and Tipton counties in Tennessee; and Crittenden County, Arkansas.

The eight-county area had 1.28 million residents last July 1 compared to 1.20 million at the time of the 2000 Census.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly