Coahoma County voters elect a new sheriff - WMC Action News 5 - Memphis, Tennessee

Coahoma County voters elect a new sheriff

CLARKSDALE, Miss. (AP) - Coahoma County voters have elected a new sheriff in a special election.

With 53% of the vote Tuesday, Charles Jones unseated incumbent Andrew Thompson Jr. who finished with 43%. Both candidates ran as Democrats.

Independent candidate Rico Smith finished third with nearly 4%. Although the election has been certified, the totals do not include absentee and affidavit ballots.

Jones said he was ready to begin work immediately.

Information from: The Clarksdale Press Register

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly