SCS closes 8 schools due to power outage

SCS closes 8 schools due to power outage

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (WMC) - Eight Shelby County Schools are closed Tuesday.

SCS officials made the decision to close Wooddale High School, Hawkins Mill Elementary School, and Westside Elementary School.

About a half hour later, SCS announced the decision to close five more schools: Balmoral Ridgeway Elementary, Oakhaven Elementary, Oakhaven Middle, Oakhaven High, and Newcomer International Center.

SCS said all these schools are still without power after Monday morning’s storms.

As of 6 a.m. Tuesday, about 10,000 MLGW customers remain without power.

Copyright 2019 WMC. All rights reserved.