Three Mississippi school districts switch to virtual learning due to a rise in cases

Published: Nov. 13, 2020 at 5:32 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (WMC) - Lafayette, Oxford and Marshall County School Districts in Mississippi are all switching learning methods for the next two weeks.

Starting Friday, Oxford Middle School transitioned to virtual learning, students will return to campus on Nov. 30.

This week at Oxford Middle School, there have been multiple Covid-19 cases in multiple classrooms. Beginning tomorrow,...

Posted by Oxford School District on Thursday, November 12, 2020

The superintendent says the switch is due to the number of positive cases in the middle school.

“We’ve got what the department of health calls three outbreaks in a single school, and that’s at Oxford Middle School and that means that three students have tested positive in any classroom or grouping,” Brian Harvey, superintendent of Oxford School District said.

Harvey says the district feared an outbreak in the middle school because of the number of interactions.

Lafayette Middle and High schools are also going all virtual.

″All week long we’ve watched our numbers just increase and just get higher and higher," Adam Pugh, superintendent of Lafayette County School District, said.

With major holidays around the corner, Pugh says the school board will meet to discuss plans going further.

“What we plan to do is get our school board together next week and talk about what we need to do between Thanksgiving and our Christmas break,” Pugh said.

Lastly, the Marshall County School District also announced all their schools will switch to remote learning starting Nov. 16 with students returning on Nov. 30.

Due to the number of Covid-19 cases within the county and an attempt to stop the spread of the virus, the Marshall...

Posted by Marshall County Schools on Friday, November 13, 2020

The district says the switch is due to the number of cases within the county.

It’s also important to note that Marshall county is one of 15 counties included in Governor Tate Reeves' executive order that includes a mask mandate.

Copyright 2020 WMC. All rights reserved.