SCHD: 145 new COVID-19 cases, 3 additional deaths reported in Shelby Co.

Vaccines, variants, breakthroughs and boosters

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (WMC) - There are currently 1,671 active cases in Shelby County after the Shelby County Health Department added another 145 new cases to its COVID-19 total Sunday with an addition of three virus-related deaths.

It’s the 11th straight day of more than 100 new cases and the 14th since April 1.

  • Thursday, April 1 -- 129
  • Friday, April 2 -- 175
  • Saturday, April 3 -- 89
  • Sunday, April 4 -- 103
  • Monday, April 5 -- 76
  • Tuesday, April 6 -- 55
  • Wednesday, April 7 -- 59
  • Thursday, April 8 -- 152
  • Friday, April 9 -- 161
  • Saturday, April 10 -- 155
  • Sunday, April 11 -- 155
  • Monday, April 12 -- 196
  • Tuesday, April 13 -- 111
  • Wednesday, April 14 -- 148
  • Thursday, April 15 -- 262
  • Friday, April 16 -- 183
  • Saturday, April 17 -- 169
  • Sunday, April 18 -- 145

Shelby County has had 93,743 cases and 1,599 since the start of the pandemic.

According to the health department, the most recent weekly test positivity rate is 6.1. It’s increased nearly every week since the first week of March.

Shelby County weekly test positivity rate as of April 16
Shelby County weekly test positivity rate as of April 16 (Source: SCHD)

As of Thursday, SCHD Chief of Epidemiology David Sweat said the county is monitoring increasing daily case numbers to determine if it’s temporary because of spring break travel and Easter holiday gatherings or if it’s indicative of a fourth wave on the horizon.

Sweat said two weeks ago, the county was averaging about 100 cases a day and it was up to 130 last week.

Shelby County has administered 458,244 doses of COVID-19 vaccines with 177,673 people now fully vaccinated.

Sweat said about 30 percent of the population is now vaccinated, and the county has achieved just more than 40 percent of its goal to vaccinate 700,000 people.

Shelby County vaccines by age and race as of April 16, 2021
Shelby County vaccines by age and race as of April 16, 2021 (Source: SCHD)

Copyright 2021 WMC. All rights reserved.